If you have recently gotten arrested for a DUI in Spokane, you are probably feeling disoriented and stressed out. About DUI Lawyer Spokane is here to provide you with helpful information about your driving under the influence charges. The legal information in this website has been provided by Action Legal Group, a local criminal law firm, with well reviewed DWI and Criminal Defense Attorneys. The info in this site is not a replacement for legal advice from an attorney about the specific facts of your situation. Ask about Payment Plans and 10% Discounts!
This Is My 1st DUI Offense In Washington.
If this is your first DUI offense you are probably feeling pretty anxious about what is going to happen next. Don’t worry this is normal. There are few things that require your immediate attention:
- Your first court appearance. (Click the links to see a helpful video or post)
- Your DOL Hearings Request.
- Consulting with a Spokane Criminal Lawyer.
These three things are the most important things for you to do and understand in the next 24 hours. Don’t miss your court date, or you will get an arrest warrant. That will just complicate your case and cause more stress. Please know that you only have 20 days to request a hearing from the Washington Department of Licensing (DOL). If you fail or forget to make this request, will automatically suspend or revoke your license. For help on this issue see the link in #2 above. Lastly, make sure you consult with a good DWI Lawyer. Each incident is unique and will require advice that fits your circumstances. Just so you know, Action Legal Group will give you a Free Case Consultation that will ease your mind and put you on the right track.
What Are The Penalties For A First Offense DUI?
The short version is that you can have your license suspended for 90 days, and for a year if you refused the BAC test. There is a mandatory minimum of jail time for DUI convictions. The minimum is one day (24 hours) if your BAC was under .15, and two days if it was over or your refused the breath test. The court may also give up to five years of probation, which you will likely have to pay a monthly fee for. There are also fines and costs to deal with. A judge will also typically order a alcohol and drug abuse screening, which may or may not result in further court ordered substance abuse treatment. As you might have guessed this can be expensive. At a minimum you are likely going to do an eight hour alcohol drug information school. The court will order you to attend a Victim Impact Panel. Finally you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your car for one year, and you will also have to purchase SR22 Insurance. DUI can be one of the most expensive mistakes to make. As such it is important that you hire a qualified DWI Attorney to help you. Want to see the specific 1st offense DUI penalties?
What Should I Look For In A Spokane DUI Lawyer?
You will see that there are a ton of lawyers to choose from. However, don’t just pick anyone. Do your research. Meet with them, and see what kind of vibe you get. Remember you have to be able to work and communicate with this person for the next several weeks. In the end it will really boil down to the attorneys experience, fees, and if you feel you can trust them. A good drunk driving lawyer should be able to save you money, greatly reduce or eliminate any jail time, and negotiate you charges to something less than you started with. The lawyer should also be respectful and give you an idea of what they can do for you. Would you like to see how to find a DWI Attorney?
How Long Will It Take To Resolve My 1st Offense DUI Charges?
Well it really just depends on how complicated your case is. Some general guidelines are that if you had any complications such as:
- Car Collision or Wreck;
- Resisted Arrest;
- You were arrested for more than one charge; or
- Extensive prior criminal history;
your case might take longer than average. Please note that there could be many other types of complications that do not appear in the list. The average drunk driving case in Spokane seems to take about 90 days from start to finish. This is a question you should ask your attorney after they know the facts of your case.
What Are The Options To Resolve My Case?
Your Spokane DWI case can be solved in a number of ways. Here are the most common:
- Dismissal Of Charges
- Amended and Reduced Charges
- Deferred Prosecution
- Decided by Jury at Trial.
Our experience has been that the vast majority of cases are settled by negotiations to a lesser charge. Dismissals are on the much less frequent side of things. Yeah, we wish they were higher, but politicians have made Washington’s Drunk Driving Laws some of the toughest in the country.
A special note about deferred prosecution. This resolution is typically not a great option for a 1st offense DUI. You have to meet certain criteria to qualify for it, it is very intensive and expensive. You will also be monitored for several years (generally five years). The bottom line is this is not a step to take lightly. If any attorney comes out of the gate with this type of solution, you should probably run away, or at least get a second opinion.
How Much Will A DUI Lawyer Cost?
Every attorney has there own pricing. Some charge nose bleed prices and others are scraping the bottom. You typically don’t want the most expensive or the cheapest. To be the cheapest corners usually need to get cut for the law firm to make a profit. It is more difficult when you are dealing with the higher priced crowd, because you may not really know why their fees are so much higher. There are many attorneys that feel they are worth more, because they work for a certain firm. Working for a certain firm really has nothing to do with helping you. They don’t have special connects or powers. Trust me! However, if the lawyer has extensive or specialized experience and training, they might be worth it. You really should just focus on value. Action Legal Group offers several affordable payment plans and options.
We hope that About DUI Lawyer Spokane has been helpful in answering some of your basic questions. Now don’t wait any longer.
Call For Your Free Consultation! 509-362-9540